14 Leaders Join National Advisory Board

New York, NY – The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation, a non-profit organization whose mission is to assist in the research of new developments for children suffering from pediatric acquired brain injury (PABI) and the rehabilitation of these children, today announced 14 leaders in the field of PABI joined its National Advisory Board. A goal of The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation is to create a model system for children and their families suffering from all pediatric acquired brain injuries by establishing a PABI Act based off the successful Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Act. PABI consists of traumatic and non-traumatic brain injuries.

The following leaders in the field of PABI joined The National Advisory Board today:

Gary Bedell, Ph.D., Tufts University, Assistant Professor, Department of Occupational Therapy

Sandra B. Chapman, Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas, Director, Center for Brain Health, Institute of Biomedical Sciences & Technology

Jeanne Dise-Lewis, Ph.D., University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center, Associate Professor, The Children’s Hospital (Aurora, CO), Director, Psychology Services in Rehabilitation Medicine

Jane Gillett, M.D., McMaster University, Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine, Chedoke Hospital (Hamilton, ON), Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation

Ann Glang, Ph.D., Western Oregon University, TBI Project Director, Teaching Research Institute

Gerard Gioia, Ph.D., George Washington University School of Medicine, Director, Pediatric Neuropsychology Program

Sharon Grandinette, MS, CBIST, Special Education Consultant, Acquired Brain Injury Specialist, Exceptional Educational Services

Marilyn Lash, MSW, Director, Lash & Associates Publishing & Training

Deborah Little, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Director, Magnetic Resonance Research, Department of Neurology

Jeffrey E. Max, M.D., University of California at San Diego, Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Children’s Hospital & Health Center (San Diego, CA), Director, Neuropsychiatric Research

Peter D. Patrick, Ph.D., University of Virginia, Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Division of Psychology, Department of Pediatrics

William D. Singer, M.D., MassGeneral Hospital for Children (Boston, MA), Newton-Wellesley Hospital (Newton, MA), Director, The Center for Developmental Neurology & Pediatric Behavioral Medicine

Janet Tyler, Ph.D., University of Kansas Medical Center, Director, Neurologic Disabilities Support Project

Keith O. Yeates, Ph.D., Ohio State University, Director, Division of Psychology, Department of Pediatrics, Nationwide Children’s Hospital (Columbus, OH), Chief, Department of Psychology

The Founder of The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation, Patrick Donohue stated, “Having this world class group of the most respected professionals in the field of pediatric acquired brain injury (PABI) join our efforts at The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation is remarkable. With the help of these amazing people, we will be able to address and solve the national health care crisis facing the millions of children and families dealing with PABI.”

Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury (PTBI) is the leading cause of death and disability for children under 15 years of age in the United States resulting in over 5,000 deaths and over 17,000 permanent disabilities each year. PTBI includes all brain injuries caused by trauma including falls, motor vehicle (MV) accidents, being struck by an object, violence/assault, sports incidents, gunshot wounds and non-MV bicycle accidents. In addition, since most children’s brains aren’t considered developed until age 21 or 22, many of the military veterans returning from Iraq and Afghanistan with TBI are actually considered PTBI. Pediatric Acquired Brain Injury (PABI) includes all traumatic injuries plus brain injuries caused by brain tumors, strokes, meningitis, insufficient oxygen, poisoning, ischemia as well as substance abuse.