7 Additional Leaders Join National Advisory Board

New York, NY – The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation, a non-profit organization whose mission is to assist in the research of new developments for children suffering from pediatric acquired brain injury (PABI) and the rehabilitation of these children, today announced 7 additional leaders in the field of PABI joined its National Advisory Board. A goal of The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation is to create a model system for children and their families suffering from all pediatric acquired brain injuries by establishing and enacting the PABI Plan. The PABI Plan will have four main components: prevention, research, rehabilitation, habilitation. PABI consists of traumatic and non-traumatic brain injuries. The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation is named after 3 year-old Sarah Jane Donohue, who was shaken by her baby nurse when she was only 5 days old breaking three ribs, both collarbones and causing a severe brain injury.

The following leaders in the field of PABI joined The National Advisory Board:
Christopher C. Giza, M.D., UCLA Brain Injury Research Center, Associate Professor of Pediatric Neurology and Neurosurgery, Mattel Children’s Hospital – UCLA
Gillian A. Hotz, Ph.D., University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine, Associate Research Professor, Division of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, Dewitt Daughtry Family Department of Surgery
Karen Lawson, Ph.D., Director, Windward Islands Research and Education Foundation (WINDREF)
Donald G. Stein, Ph.D., Emory University School of Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine, Asa G. Candler Professor of Emergency Medicine and Neurology
H. Gerry Taylor, Ph.D., ABPP/CN – Case Western Reserve University, Professor of Pediatrics, Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital, University Hospitals of Cleveland
Bonnie J. Todis, Ph.D., Western Oregon University, Associate Research Professor, The Teaching Research Institute
Shari Wade, Ph.D., Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Director of Research, Division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Previously announced Members of The National Advisory Board
Gary Bedell, Ph.D., Tufts University, Assistant Professor, Department of Occupational Therapy
Sandra B. Chapman, Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas, Chief Director, Center for Brain Health, Dee Wyly Distinguished Chair in BrainHealth; Professor, Behavioral and Brain Sciences
Roberta DePompei, Ph.D., University of Akron, Professor and Chairman, Department of Speech-Language Pathology, Director, School of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
Jeanne Dise-Lewis, Ph.D., University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center, Associate Professor, The Children’s Hospital (Aurora, CO), Director, Psychology Services in Rehabilitation Medicine
Jane Gillett, M.D., McMaster University, Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine, Chedoke Hospital (Hamilton, ON), Hamilton Health Sciences Corporation
Ann Glang, Ph.D., Western Oregon University, TBI Project Director, Teaching Research Institute
Gerard Gioia, Ph.D., Children’s National Medical Center, Director, Pediatric Neuropsychology Program
Sharon Grandinette, MS, CBIST, Special Education Consultant, Acquired Brain Injury Specialist, Exceptional Educational Services
Marilyn Lash, MSW, Director, Lash & Associates Publishing & Training
Deborah Little, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Director, Magnetic Resonance Research, Department of Neurology
Jeffrey E. Max, M.D., University of California at San Diego, Professor, Department of Psychiatry, Children’s Hospital & Health Center (San Diego, CA), Director, Neuropsychiatric Research
Peter D. Patrick, Ph.D., University of Virginia, Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Division of Psychology, Department of Pediatrics
Ron Savage, Ed.D., President, North American Brain Injury Society, Founder, The Pediatric Task Force of the Brain Injury Association of America, Senior Consultant, The Center for Neurological and Neurodevelopmental Health, Editor, Brain Injury Professional
William D. Singer, M.D., MassGeneral Hospital for Children (Boston, MA), Newton-Wellesley Hospital (Newton, MA), Director, The Center for Developmental Neurology & Pediatric Behavioral Medicine
Janet Tyler, Ph.D., University of Kansas Medical Center, Director, Neurologic Disabilities Support Project
Keith O. Yeates, Ph.D., Ohio State University, Director, Division of Psychology, Department of Pediatrics, Nationwide Children’s Hospital (Columbus, OH), Chief, Department of Psychology

The Founder of The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation and Sarah Jane’s father, Patrick Donohue stated, “This is the most talented and respected group of professionals in the field of pediatric acquired brain injury (PABI) and it is an incredible honor to have them join our efforts at The Sarah Jane Brain Foundation. With this group, there is no doubt we will be able to address and solve the national health care crisis facing the millions of children and families dealing with PABI.”

Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury (PTBI) is the leading cause of death and disability for children under 15 years of age in the United States resulting in over 5,000 deaths and over 17,000 permanent disabilities each year. PTBI includes all brain injuries caused by trauma including falls, motor vehicle (MV) accidents, being struck by an object, violence/assault, sports incidents, gunshot wounds and non-MV bicycle accidents. In addition, since most children’s brains aren’t considered developed until age 21 or 22, many of the military veterans returning from Iraq and Afghanistan with TBI are actually considered PTBI. PABI includes all traumatic causes plus brain injuries caused by brain tumors, strokes, meningitis, insufficient oxygen, poisoning, ischemia as well as substance abuse.